04-25-18 12:24 PM
184 ... 5678
tools
  1. DreadPirateRegan's Avatar
    My q10 has issues so can not use it for comparing hence new phone as I am cheap.

    -Steve

    Maybe a priv is in my future after alll.
    01-20-16 02:45 PM
  2. ardayar's Avatar
    Hi I am using a Classic SQC100-1 with my carrier Turkcell in Turkey and with the "signal" application i get ;

    LTE Band 20 - 800 MHZ UMTS Band 8 - 900 MHZ GSM-1900 Band - 1900 MHZ
    LTE Band 8 - 900 MHZ UMTS Band 6 - 800 MHZ GSM-1800 Band - 1800 MHZ
    LTE Band 7 - 2600 MHZ UMTS Band 5 - 850 MHZ GSM-900 Band - 900 MHZ
    LTE Band 5 - 850 MHZ UMTS Band 2 - 1900 MHZ GSM-850 Band - 850 MHZ
    LTE Band 3 - 1800 MHZ
    LTE Band 2 - 1900 MHZ

    and now I am planning to buy a Blackberry Passport or Blackberry Passport SE so which model do I need to prefer ? SQW100-1 and SQW100-4 looks familiar and also compatible with my Classic and the frequencies. I can not order because of this confusion. And my carrier Turkcell is starting 4.5G on April and the frequencies are ;

    800 FDD (2x10=20MHZ)
    900 FDD (2x1.4=2.8MHZ)
    1800 FDD (2x29.8=59.6MHZ)
    2100 FDD (2x5=10MHZ)
    2100 TDD (1x10=10MHZ)
    2600 FDD (2x25=50MHZ)
    2600 TDD(1x10=10MHZ)

    That's the all information I have I hope someone could help. Thanks in advance.
    03-20-16 06:34 PM
  3. raino's Avatar
    my carrier Turkcell is starting 4.5G on April and the frequencies are ;

    800 FDD (2x10=20MHZ)--band 20
    900 FDD (2x1.4=2.8MHZ)--band 8
    1800 FDD (2x29.8=59.6MHZ)--band 3
    2100 FDD (2x5=10MHZ)--band 1
    2100 TDD (1x10=10MHZ)--???
    2600 FDD (2x25=50MHZ)--band 7
    2600 TDD(1x10=10MHZ)--band 38

    SQW100-1 and the -4 have the same band complements. So they are both missing band 38 and ???
    03-20-16 07:14 PM
  4. ardayar's Avatar
    SQW100-1 and the -4 have the same band complements. So they are both missing band 38 and ???
    I really do not have enough information but those are the frequencies which were bought by the company for the 4.5G but I will try to ask to the company. Also there is no 2600 listed in the Passport supported frequencies for the models comparison chart nor band 38. If I buy SQW100-1 or SQW100-4 can I use ?
    03-21-16 01:08 AM
  5. raino's Avatar
    I really do not have enough information but those are the frequencies which were bought by the company for the 4.5G but I will try to ask to the company. Also there is no 2600 listed in the Passport supported frequencies for the models comparison chart nor band 38. If I buy SQW100-1 or SQW100-4 can I use ?
    You cannot use any Passport on a band 38 network. But band 7--the FDD equivalent of band 38--is present in both models.

    If I recall correctly, the only BlackBerry phone with band 38 in it is the Priv STV100-3.
    03-21-16 12:28 PM
  6. amankh's Avatar
    A focus on just 1-2 models is extremely important to bring about economies of scales to further bring prices down and be competitive
    04-09-16 11:02 PM
  7. Krnmc's Avatar
    Wow I wasn't expecting SK telecom to be under the compatibility list. Does that mean I will get 4G/LTE? I have the priv right now but the passport SE is pretty tempting... Thank you
    05-09-16 11:41 PM
  8. raino's Avatar
    Wow I wasn't expecting SK telecom to be under the compatibility list. Does that mean I will get 4G/LTE? I have the priv right now but the passport SE is pretty tempting... Thank you
    Yeah. LTE on their bands 1, 3 and 5 networks.
    05-10-16 12:12 PM
  9. gonka95's Avatar
    Does anyone else have the Sub-Model RGY180LW? Just wondering...
    05-23-16 07:04 PM
  10. Krnmc's Avatar
    Yeah. LTE on their bands 1, 3 and 5 networks.
    Thank you very much for the reply. One more question SK telecom is CDMA network, and i know the passport doesnt work for Verizon, even though it has the compatible LTE bands because the phones has to be registered on their network (or something along those lines.) Is that the similar case for the SK as well? If you don't know the answer no worries =]
    05-25-16 07:47 PM
  11. raino's Avatar
    Thank you very much for the reply. One more question SK telecom is CDMA network, and i know the passport doesnt work for Verizon, even though it has the compatible LTE bands because the phones has to be registered on their network (or something along those lines.) Is that the similar case for the SK as well? If you don't know the answer no worries =]
    They have a 2100 MHz UMTS network as well--South Korea's best HSPA+, according to Wikipedia.

    CDMA's not going to work though. So I would recommend you look into how well non-CDMA (or non SKT-CDMA) phones work on SK Telecom. Does SK Telecom cover the country with at least UMTS everywhere? If so, CDMA (or lack thereof) becomes irrelevant.
    05-26-16 12:28 PM
  12. thurask's Avatar
    Does anyone else have the Sub-Model RGY180LW? Just wondering...
    Isn't that the regular SQW100-1?
    05-26-16 01:00 PM
  13. BlueScorpion's Avatar
    i bought passport before 1 month and i am from greece.i notice that i have only 2g and 3g. where is the 4g?
    05-27-16 04:41 PM
  14. raino's Avatar
    i bought passport before 1 month and i am from greece.i notice that i have only 2g and 3g. where is the 4g?
    Does your carrier offer 4G in your area?
    Did they sell any BB10 phones prior to the Passport?
    What does Settings>Networks and Connections >Mobile Network>Network Mode show as options?
    05-27-16 08:09 PM
  15. BlueScorpion's Avatar
    Does your carrier offer 4G in your area?
    Did they sell any BB10 phones prior to the Passport?
    What does Settings>Networks and Connections >Mobile Network>Network Mode show as options?
    thanks for your answer.ofc my carrier offer 4g in my area but they don't sell blackberry.my last phone was a xiaomi mi note pro. on network mode shows only 3g and 2g.what's going on i don't understand. :/
    05-27-16 09:18 PM
  16. raino's Avatar
    thanks for your answer.ofc my carrier offer 4g in my area but they don't sell blackberry.my last phone was a xiaomi mi note pro. on network mode shows only 3g and 2g.what's going on i don't understand. :/
    Since Greek carriers have the conventional European LTE bands, I'm thinking it's more a provisioning than a compatibility issue.

    Try these two things:

    1. If you still have your Xiaomi phone and it used to get 4G, put your SIM card in it. Then, after 4G comes up, take the SIM card out and put it in the Passport.

    2. If that didn't get your 4G, contact your carrier and tell them you want to activate a new phone. Then, give them the Xiaomi phone's IMEI number, or if you can, the IMEI number off a demo phone in this carrier's store.
    BlueScorpion likes this.
    05-28-16 06:53 AM
  17. gonka95's Avatar
    Yeah, it is. So there is no difference then? And what is the purpose of sub-models?
    05-29-16 12:31 AM
  18. thurask's Avatar
    Yeah, it is. So there is no difference then? And what is the purpose of sub-models?
    99% of the planet gets the -1, Verizon was supposed to get the -2 for their stupid CDMA network but they canceled it, AT&T got the -3 because they wanted it to look different for some stupid reason, and the -4 was the last minute addition in the form of the Silver Edition.

    As for the RGY181LW bit, that's BlackBerry's internal model number for the SQW100-1.
    05-29-16 12:34 AM
  19. gonka95's Avatar
    So basically they all have a different look? I keep going over the details and they are all the same. Thanks for the response!
    05-29-16 12:37 AM
  20. BlueScorpion's Avatar
    Since Greek carriers have the conventional European LTE bands, I'm thinking it's more a provisioning than a compatibility issue.

    Try these two things:

    1. If you still have your Xiaomi phone and it used to get 4G, put your SIM card in it. Then, after 4G comes up, take the SIM card out and put it in the Passport.

    2. If that didn't get your 4G, contact your carrier and tell them you want to activate a new phone. Then, give them the Xiaomi phone's IMEI number, or if you can, the IMEI number off a demo phone in this carrier's store.
    i contact with my carrier and they told me is not their problem. my sim have 4g and they recommend me to contact with blackberry. what i supposed to do? send email to blackberry?
    Last edited by BlueScorpion; 05-29-16 at 02:31 AM.
    05-29-16 01:29 AM
  21. raino's Avatar
    i contact with my carrier and they told me is not their problem. my sim have 4g and they recommend me to contact with blackberry. what i supposed to do? send email to blackberry?
    Did you try either of the two suggestions in my last post? Contact the carrier again, but tell them you want to activate an Android phone (don't bring up BlackBerry at all.) Then, when they ask you for the phone's IMEI#, give them the Xiaomi's. The IMEI# off a phone they have for sale would be better, but in absence of that, try the Xiaomi. Then, stick your SIM card in the Passport. Oh...and do this from a different phone. Your SIM card needs to be dissociated from all phones and only put into the Passport once you speak with the carrier.
    Last edited by raino; 05-30-16 at 02:55 PM.
    05-30-16 01:46 PM
  22. BlueScorpion's Avatar
    Did you try either of the two suggestions in my last post? Contact the carrier again, but tell them you want to activate an Android phone (don't bring up BlackBerry at all.) Then, when they ask you for the phone's IMEI#, give them the Xiaomi's. The IMEI# off a phone they have for sale would be better, but in absence of that, try the Xiaomi. Then, stick your SIM card in the Passport. Oh...and do this from a different phone. Your SIM card needs to be dissociated from all phones and only put into the Passport once you speak with the carrier.
    thank you for your answer
    i don't have xiaomi my friend.i sell that s..t :P
    so no solution until BB bring an update for my carrier?
    05-30-16 09:08 PM
  23. raino's Avatar
    thank you for your answer
    i don't have xiaomi my friend.i sell that s..t :P
    so no solution until BB bring an update for my carrier?
    Does anyone you know (friends, family, etc.) own an Android phone and use it on the same carrier as you?
    05-31-16 07:25 AM
  24. BlueScorpion's Avatar
    Does anyone you know (friends, family, etc.) own an Android phone and use it on the same carrier as you?
    yes ofc
    05-31-16 09:04 AM
  25. raino's Avatar
    yes ofc
    OK, then maybe you can use their IMEI# to generate a dummy IMEI to give to your carrier? You can create a dummy IMEI# by changing the last two digits.

    There isn't much BlackBerry can do here, really. It's the carrier that hasn't provisioned the Passport for 4G.
    BlueScorpion likes this.
    05-31-16 10:26 AM
184 ... 5678

Similar Threads

  1. Official "I got my Passport" Thread
    By Resilience in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 1209
    Last Post: Yesterday, 02:56 PM
  2. Philippines (globe?) for passport
    By Thalakar in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 10-18-14, 12:12 PM
  3. CNET Homepage format different to indicate new Passport shape?
    By Jose Casiano in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-01-14, 12:36 PM
  4. Passport 10.3.0.675 OS from Germany
    By amirnabilkamelsaad in forum BlackBerry 10 OS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-26-14, 11:38 AM
  5. Ok, p9983,passport,...now what?
    By ElGorgon in forum BlackBerry Q10
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-24-14, 01:01 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD