Ok, I swore I wouldn't get dragged back into this one....I get annoyed when people say "the PP has a bad camera". Yes, it has a slow focus. This is its biggest problem. That doesn�t make it bad, just harder to use. Maybe for some this counts as bad, not me.

Anyway, I see people taking blurry photos and saying the camera is bad. I thought I would put this to bed once and for all. Firstly, I am an engineer, and my current job is designing an IR camera module for machine vision. I actually know something about cameras I am still a poor photographer, but I don't blame my tools.

So (apologies for the length of the post in advance). The camera records light that hits it (duh). The sensor is the light sensitive bit - it is made up of millions of cells which convert photons (light) to electricity. The more photons, the higher the voltage, the brighter the pixel. Each cell is amplified to give the final value for the image. If you have a nice bright scene, then it takes very little time to get enough photons to make a bright pixel. You can also turn down the amplifier so the cell is less sensitive.

Noise is always there. It comes from inconsistencies in manufacture, temperature, bleed etc. When you amplify the cell, you also amplify the noise.

ISO is the sensitivity of the sensor/film to light. In a digital camera ISO is basically the amplifier. High ISO = high amplification = high noise. Low ISO = low amplification = low noise. With me so far?

So if you want low noise in low light, you need to capture more photons. You do this by leaving the sensor "open" for longer. You can get the same amount of output by simply lowering the amplifier and leaving the sensor active for longer. The length of time the sensor is active is the shutter. It isn't a mechanical shutter like an SLR, the module basically freezes the cell so the voltage doesn�t change.