I switched to my very first Blackberry a year and a half ago (Q10) after being a dedicated iPhone user since the start.

I fell head over heals in love... I finally found a device created to serve ME instead of promoting its makers. Then the Passport came into my life - the absolute greatest gadget/mobile device I had ever used. Not only that, the sexiest looking one I have ever seen as well. I found my 'life device', not a new bs phone/social media tool confused as to what is it is and how to function.

But then there was the case issue, and being a designer I was very picky as to what will house my new bff, I call him Banki. I got inspired by an ipad case I saw online that never went into production and so the adventure began...

I started off with two hot mats that I got from the local hardware store. I made sure the cork was dense enough to take the atrocious battering I was about to give it.

My AT&T Passport Case Adventure-img_20150802_123835.jpg

Designed the case in Illustrator according to the device's dimensions provided by AT&T

My AT&T Passport Case Adventure-banki-case-cut.jpg

Roughly cut the outer shape with a jigsaw and hollowed out the interior with a vertical router

My AT&T Passport Case Adventure-img_20150801_183513.jpg

Lined the interior with 3mm felt

My AT&T Passport Case Adventure-img_20150802_124035.jpg

Glued the pieces together with some industrial contact adhesive

My AT&T Passport Case Adventure-img_20150803_010921.jpg

Then started a few days of sanding with super low grit sand paper and 3 layers of cork sealer/renewer (used for Birkenstocks)

My AT&T Passport Case Adventure-img_20150804_235903.jpg

End result

My AT&T Passport Case Adventure-img-20150911-wa003.jpg

My AT&T Passport Case Adventure-img-20150911-wa005.jpg

My AT&T Passport Case Adventure-img-20150911-wa004.jpg

My AT&T Passport Case Adventure-img-20150911-wa007.jpg