Hi all, some help needed please

The microphone on my passport doesn't work during phonecalls. When put on speakerphone it works fine though.

I am not accidentally putting it on mute and am not covering any holes.

I am on version 10.3.2.2474

I have run bbve and it confirms everything is ok so it can't be a hardware issue.

It started up a few weeks back but I didn't notice straight away as thought it was just a bad line for a while until I figured out what was going on.

I have searched the forums and this seems to be a problem for others but no one has come up with a fix?

I live in the UK and bought my phone seconhand, although it was like new, so if it needs to be fixed I don't know where I stand or where to send it if necessary (hopefully not, and I'm pretty certain it can't be a hardware issue)

Please help I'm a newb!!

Posted via CB10
    11-03-15 01:56 AM
    Exactly the same problem and scenario. Just bought one second hand last night, very clean and sparingly used buy mic isn't working apart from on speaker phone.

As far as I've researched so far, it's a common issue. I've reloaded the OS, used BlackBerry wipe option but nothing worked so far. Most likely it's a hardware issue.

One question, to repair the mic, does the whole motherboard need to be changed or the mic is located externally?

Please keep the thread alive, I don't want to lose this device like this.

Thanks

Posted via CB10
    11-15-15 07:09 AM
    Had this happen on a Z30 sent it back to Telus and they replaced it with a refurb.

I was able to take voice notes and use the speaker phone. But the actual phone mic must be different.

Posted via CB10
    11-15-15 10:13 AM