Have looked back through the forum but am having trouble finding any threads dealing with faeces and the PKB. Disappointing.

Anyway, I'm a vet(erinarian) and my phones can get a bit.. err.. grimey. You know, things get dropped. In BAD places. Looking at a Passport. Wondered how people find the keyboard as a dirt magnet and how easy to clean.

Have had a Pre 2 back in the day and found those chiclet keys were not too bad.

Thanks in advance.
    02-26-16 12:52 AM
    I'm a dentist...and so far I've no complaints regarding the keyboard. I keep it in my scrub top as I work and any tiny bits of material that have ever got stuck between the keys have been easy to wipe clean. However, I have a passport silver edition and it has a tiny scratch on the keyboard surround cover as it's made of plastic...something to consider if you're going to be dropping it in random grimey places.

Posted via CB10
    02-26-16 07:02 AM
    Thanks KcanK. Looking forward to getting Passport, but did wonder how other people who had dirty work environments found it.

Solution, I guess, is not to drop it!
    02-28-16 12:59 AM
    Use mine in an Oil & Chemical Terminal and keep it sanitised with the same wipes as you'd use for respirators and safety glasses. Just keep a couple of sachets in a pocket and you're good.

Posted via CB10
    02-28-16 04:38 AM
    I know this sounds stupid, but I place my BlackBerry Passport in a Ziploc baggie for times when I know I will be in unsanitary or dusty environments. Also, I sometimes carry my phone in the original box.

I refuse to put my phone in a situation where cleaning it becomes necessary. I love my phone too much, and I invested a lot of money in this, so I protect it as much as possible. That's just me though.

Posted via CB10
    02-28-16 05:32 AM
    Thanks @ukandywest! The solvents in those don't affect the keyboard or letters?
    02-29-16 12:31 AM