Hi All,

I'm new to Blackberry and I got the Passport recently and I'm loving the device and the OS.

One thing that came up is I got a low memory warning today.I closed some apps and solved the problem, but this made me think: where is the email being stored on the device? In the 3GB ram or in the in the 32 GB internal flash storage?

I ask because I'd like to set my IMAP emails sync timeframe to 'Forever'. Of course this will mean downloading about 6 GB worth of emails/attachments. I am guessing this is possible if the emails are stored on the 32 GB internal flash storage, but not the 3GB of RAM of course.

Related question: assuming I can download the data onto the 32 GB internal flash, is performance going to take a massive hit when accessing /searching the email? I can partition the emails in my IMAP email account into IMAP folders (one for each year, for instance), so this might be a way to keep individual folders a manageable size.

Many thanks for the help as I familiarize myself with Blackberry.
    Tim
    12-10-14 04:39 PM
    Do you have 6GB of mail in your Inbox?

It is only the inbox that is synced by default, but on some systems you can still search in external mail in other folders and that way have access to everything

The 3GB of memory is same as RAM on your computer, is only used for OS and running apps, not storage area for anything.

So whatever you store on the device, mail, contacts, system cache, apps, app data - is from the 32GB area...

but you should have no problem with 6GB of email, for whatever reasons you would have to store that locally on your phone.

I would suggest that you start categorizing your email, store it in folders, and make a system for yourself to archive what you need to store etc, - and keep the Inbox as clean as you can to any given time.
    12-10-14 07:46 PM