1. rcranz's Avatar
    I was in the hub reading some of my text messages when I pressed the 3 vertical dots located in the bottom right corner. This then displayed a menu with several options, which includes "Clear Chat" and "End Chat".

    When you press "Clear Chat", the following message appears: "If you clear the chat, all messages will be deleted."

    When you press "End Chat", the following message appears: "If you end a chat, all messages in the conversation will be deleted."

    Does anyone know if there is a difference? It appears to me that both commands do the same operation. Right?
    10-11-15 04:16 AM
  2. anischab's Avatar
    May be you just discovered the glitch... some users ask where their text messages are gone??

    By deleting chat you delete all messages? By deleting conversation only the messages related to contact?

    I won't try to clear all messages!!
    10-11-15 04:57 AM
  3. mvpcrossxover's Avatar
    Test it out by texting a bunch of gibberish to yourself.

    Posted via CB10
    10-11-15 05:04 AM
  4. rcranz's Avatar
    May be you just discovered the glitch... some users ask where their text messages are gone??

    By deleting chat you delete all messages? By deleting conversation only the messages related to contact?

    I won't try to clear all messages!!
    I'm guessing "Clear Chat" will erase ALL of my text messages, whereas "End Chat" will just erase an entire conversation with just one person. I might test the Clear option soon, but I need to save lots of my important text conversations first.
    10-11-15 05:42 AM
  5. joshua_sx1's Avatar
    The 'Clear Chat' intends to clear or delete your chatting while 'End Chat', end your chatting by deleting your messages (in and out). Since 'messages' are also considered 'chatting' when you replied to them immediately, so the 'Clear Chat' will definitely clear those messages by deleting them. And 'End Chat' treats 'chats' as 'messages', so when you clear your chat, it is like clearing / deleting your messages as well... they do similar functions but addressing different scenarios having the same definitions and concepts...


    ...as my professor is always saying, if you cannot convince them... confuse them...

    Posted via CB10
    10-11-15 06:17 AM
  6. moegh's Avatar
    Clear chat will delete the messages without deleting the conversation from the hub, end chat will delete the messages and the conversation

    CB10Q10SQN100-3/10.3.2.2639
    nah.uhh likes this.
    10-11-15 06:34 AM
  7. nah.uhh's Avatar
    Clear chat will delete the messages without deleting the conversation from the hub, end chat will delete the messages and the conversation

    CB10Q10SQN100-3/10.3.2.2639
    This ^

    Might be forgetting a few.. 7280 >7290 > 8310 + 8130 + 8220 > 9000 + 8900 > 9700 + 9800 + 9100 > 9780 + 9810 + 9900 > playbook > z10 > PassportSQW100-1/10.3.2.2639
    10-11-15 07:13 AM
  8. moegh's Avatar
    I mean
    If you Cleared the chat, that's what will happen
    The conversation window will stay but empty

    Difference between "Clear Chat" and "End Chat"?-img_20151011_163238.png

    But if you ended the chat the conversation will be deleted from hub

    CB10Q10SQN100-3/10.3.2.2639
    anischab likes this.
    10-11-15 08:35 AM

Similar Threads

  1. Always end up on my Classic
    By dave gomez in forum BlackBerry Classic
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 01-20-16, 03:42 PM
  2. Upgrade just Keyboard and nothing else?
    By hack3rcon in forum BlackBerry Q10
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-24-15, 05:31 AM
  3. Passport + BB's "Privacy and Control" Subscription
    By BEEBEEBEEBEE in forum General BBM Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-20-15, 11:01 PM
  4. Amazon and Google play service
    By macwild in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-11-15, 01:16 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-10-15, 08:48 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD