What about using the new Passport on a discount carrier like Cricket Wireless here in the US? I have never used an unlocked phone before so am worried about spending the money and not being able to use it, or use all of its features? I want a very high end phone, and love what I am learning about the Passport (Especially the screen size, battery size and great speaker/sound system), but since I only want occasional business related internet access, I am thinking about saving money on my fixed monthly budget and doing one of the unlimited talk and text plans with unlimited 3G data and 500MB high speed data (Apparently 4G LTE). Later, once the business is chugging along, I can feel more comfortable spending more money for more data on a larger carrier like AT&T perhaps. In any case, I called Cricket and all they gave was the company line that they don't support Blackberry. They offer one of those bring your own device options, so in theory I should be able to use an unlocked phone and just purchase the Cricket sim card to plug into it, but they were vague when I asked about that, as if hoping I'd buy one of their supported phones. I am wondering if I get the new BB Passport phone unlocked, if I can purchase a Cricket sim card so I can port over my old AT&T phone number and then use the new BB phone with my current phone number, but do so thru a discount carrier like Cricket, and have everything work great? All input is welcome. Thanks.
    09-25-14 11:24 AM
    Cricket should just be using AT&T's wireless network, so an unlocked GSM Passport should work. Especially since the only GSM model is sold by AT&T themselves.

Posted via CB10
    09-25-14 11:32 AM
    You can use unlocked or ATT locked devices on Cricket including BB10.
    09-25-14 11:32 AM
    Once a device is unlocked, I believe it can be used on any carrier. That's the purpose for the unlocking.
    However, some carriers may not support the device and it may tend to act funny when you insert the SIM.