1. Tessoro Desoto's Avatar
    Should I be concerned about this before buying an used device? Thanks.
    08-27-15 03:11 AM
  2. akavbb's Avatar
    Yes. It has to be turned off by the previous owner if it runs 10.3.2.xxx. If it isn't then it's bricked for you. Unless you know his bbid and password.
    Which I highly/seriously doubt.

    Posted via my STL100-2 | Waiting for the mighty Squircle to return
    08-27-15 03:24 AM
  3. RLTurn77's Avatar
    Not sure if this is the norm with BlackBerry Protect or not, but I was using a Verizon Z30 and ended up gifting it to my sister as an upgrade to her Z10. I wiped the device from the phone using the security wipe option, the welcome screen appeared, and she entered her BBID and was on her way

    I kept checking back with her and she was using it for months when I logged on to my BlackBerry Protect account and noticed the PIN and Verizon Z30 picture. I left it on there for months as I was planning to prank her when she came over, but never ended up doing that (BTW, we have a great relationship and it would be jokingly... although I could have wiped the thing or even locked it out now).

    From this experience, the device stayed on my BlackBerry Protect as I was the original owner. Seemed odd since I wiped it and put in my password to do it then she signed in herself, but it was there.

    Posted via CB10
    Tessoro Desoto likes this.
    08-27-15 07:03 AM
  4. Tessoro Desoto's Avatar
    So it is usable unless the original owner goes to blackberry protect and locks it?
    Logged into my blackberry protect and there were three devices I had already used in the past. One of them requested my bb sign in info when I wiped it and attempted to reuse. Thanks guys.
    08-27-15 07:11 AM
  5. Tessoro Desoto's Avatar
    Btw I was having standby overnight battery drain of 3%-5% and now that I removed the device from blackberry protect that drainage is gone
    08-27-15 07:13 AM
  6. akavbb's Avatar
    So it is usable unless the original owner goes to blackberry protect and locks it?
    Logged into my blackberry protect and there were three devices I had already used in the past. One of them requested my bb sign in info when I wiped it and attempted to reuse. Thanks guys.
    No. When you get it, register the device to your BlackBerry Protect. Then it's going to be yours.
    What I mentioned before about making sure that the previous owner disables the BlackBerry Protect before wiping, is valid for devices running 10.3.2.xxx.

    Posted via my STL100-2 | Waiting for the mighty Squircle to return
    08-27-15 08:10 AM

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-31-15, 01:02 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-30-15, 04:52 AM
  3. Recording BlackBerry Classic on PC
    By horton1980 in forum BlackBerry 10 OS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-27-15, 10:40 AM
  4. BlackBerry 10 facebook app suck!
    By Tunde Michael in forum Ask a Question
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-27-15, 02:55 AM
  5. BlackBerry Classic .mac email problem, can I get some help?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum BlackBerry Classic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-15, 11:01 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD