So I was at a local Memory Express store in Richmond, BC buying some computer has when I decided to check out their official Samsung store and try out the Note 3 and the Galaxy S5. I started playing with the devices and noticed that every screen I moved to on any of the phones, whether it be S5, S4, Note 3, etc. all had a not-so-faint image of the home screen burnt into the display. Literally, every single device using an AMOLED or an S-AMOLED screen was suffering from screen burn-in. I called one of their reps to show him the issue and when he saw it he was floored. Every single one of their floor devices had the exact same problem. Major screen burn-in. The Galaxy S5 was by far the worst.

Anyway, the point of this post is not to bash on Samsung devices. It's to point out the benefit of opting to use an IPS LCD for a high end device like the Passport instead of an OLED screen. Despite many advances in OLED technology it is blatantly obvious that it still suffers from some serious drawbacks. Personally, I haven't seen screen burn-in in over 16 years, until today, when I saw more of it than ever before.

Posted via CrackBerry App
    nick13b and anon5645485 like this.
    07-19-14 06:58 PM
    On their defense, they aren't really made to stay on for 10 straight hours or so mainly on the same screen.
    anon5645485 likes this.
    07-19-14 07:03 PM
    Screen burn in only occurs when you leave the screen on the same or similar screen for many, many hours. So change your background once in a while. Lock your phone. Done. There should not be issues like that for most people.

Posted via CB10
    07-19-14 07:50 PM
    Good thing none of the few BlackBerry demo devices was ever turned on and out on display for long enough for this to happen.

just kidding...