Dear BlackBerry fans,

I just went to the store and bought a brandnew BlackBerry Passport for just 100 Euro yesterday.

It was a hard decision since I am happy with my KeyOne. But when I saw the price I thought about the glory days of BB10 and the fun we had here.

I watched youtube videos and it just felt good. The design inspired by the building in Toronto from Mies van der Rohe, the keyboard and the unique design. As a designer myself I need things which communicate my personality. I can't imagine having things everybody have.

I am also a minimalist. Seeing the people glued to these smartphones I said to myself, that I don't wanna spend so much time on a device. So I don't need social media apps. It is a waste of time for me and very artificial. If you do business with social media, perfect. But otherwise it is not for me. Too much drama.

I installed whatsapp with APK. Works good. Otherwise I use BBM. Browser works as well the Maps app. And the Keyboard!!! And the user interface.

It is like driving a Jaguar instead of a Nissan Micra. The quality is premium. The design? Flawless. You can't compare the KeyOne with it.

I will test it for a month. If it won't work, I have my KeyOne on the side.

As a minimalist I think this could work out very well. I just wanna be in contact with my peers, family and beloved ones, taking pictures, listen to music, mail and calendar.

The UI of the calendar on the KeyOne is horrible. The one on the passport is like coming home. Speaker quality is ace.

I feel I can have a lot of fun with it. It is like coming home.

I really don't need gazillion of apps. Less is more.

If you think about getting one in 2018 and love being minimalist, this could be the phone to go.

I will keep you updated guys.

Posted via CB10
    jemireu, falbo, dmlis and 11 others like this.
    03-18-18 01:35 PM
    Welcome home! Too bad about the eviction notice end of 2019. Not sure how that will pan out once they cut out the electricity and heat.