Hi guys,

I'm new to cb, and fairly new to BB in general. I'm now abroad on exchange, and due to the length of my program (only three months), getting BIS was to expensive so I got a regular data plan. With it nothing except "whatsapp" works.

My question, is it possible to get email (and preferably web-browsing) up and running on a regular data plan? I know that BBM won't work, but I need at least email.

Is it possible to download a new browser and email reader?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!
    03-29-11 05:07 AM
    I dont think so try downloading Opera mini on the pc and install trough blackberry desktop manager
    CrossS and atlac like this.
    03-29-11 05:18 AM
    A BB without BIS is like a human without Soul.

nothing except regular browsing will work.
    03-29-11 06:04 AM
    A BB without BIS is like a human without Soul.

nothing except regular browsing will work.
    I know, trust me.. However, regular browsing does not work either. Will it work if I download Opera Mini as mentioned above? And if so, does it exist another email app that I can download to get email to work as well?

Thanks!
    03-29-11 06:21 AM
    Well if you get so it will browse can't you just use the webmail version?
    03-29-11 06:26 AM
    Well if you get so it will browse can't you just use the webmail version?
    I know. It's a possibility, but very unpractical. Since I'm at school now I haven't been able to download Opera yet. Now I'm just looking for all (if any) options that I have available.

Anyone know of any 3ed party app to use for emails?
    03-29-11 06:42 AM
    No you can't, the email app strictly uses BIS service
    03-29-11 06:47 AM
    Couldn't he install the logicmail app and use that for email not on bis? It wouldn't be through the native app and you wouldn't get push email but could still send and receive?

I have it installed but don't use it so I am not sure how it works...

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com