There was a thread a few days ago that really struck me in a personal way. No, I wasn't affected by it as far as my BlackBerry was concerned, but I was affected by it because of what I do for a living.

Please, if you are concerned about receiving communication from spammers or scammers on your BlackBerry via PIN messaging or BlackBerry Messenger, read the following paper I wrote on the subject.

If I can save just one member of CrackBerry from getting unsolicited spam via their PIN, then I have served my purpose with this paper.

If a moderator feels like moving this into the BlackBerry Tips, How To & FAQ Section, please do! Or if this is too controversial, please delete it. I'm just trying to help.

Thank you.

CrackBerry.com Forums: User PIN Security
    09-04-09 05:57 AM
    OMG he uses wget and regex to recurse through a site to get public information! He is so 1337!

I ph34r j00 so much, teach me how to hax0rz n00bs plz!

Oh wait, if you SPAM someone over PIN then you are easily traceable, and RIM would no doubt disable your PIN after complaints leaving you with a useless device.

Would you not be better using the same idea to harvest emails like regular spammers and using free systems to spam us all?

Oh and it's not like BBM even works most of the time.
    09-04-09 06:24 AM
    OMG he uses wget and regex to recurse through a site to get public information! He is so 1337!

I ph34r j00 so much, teach me how to hax0rz n00bs plz!

Oh wait, if you SPAM someone over PIN then you are easily traceable, and RIM would no doubt disable your PIN after complaints leaving you with a useless device.

Would you not be better using the same idea to harvest emails like regular spammers and using free systems to spam us all?

Oh and it's not like BBM even works most of the time.
    Thank you for reiterating how easy this is to accomplish, which was the main point of the paper.
    09-04-09 06:34 AM