thanks, it looks like it will take awhile.

Its a little confusing at first but once you get the hang of it, it does not take as long as you think but it will remove the IT policy.
    07-26-08 01:48 PM
    Ok I am new to balckberry bought the 8830 off EBAY and it did have the IT restriction for data. So I tried the fix to upgrade to 4.5 and then run JL_Cmder but could not get it to open port so gave up. Tried the fix with policy.bin and it did work and I do not have the IT restriction but the firewall still has little red check and can not disable. Now whe I get email or text messages my unit does not vibrate and the red indicator light does not come on??? I really would like to clear out the IT restriction but can't get JL_Cmder to open port. Any ideas???

AZWILLARD
    07-29-08 03:11 PM
    OMG Navi! You are a genious! Thank goodness for cats like you. I was instructed that I could not get the IT Policy off my BB unless I called up my old job, connected with IT Support, and had them push something to my phone in order to remove the policy.

Man...your instructions worked in only 15 mins. Thanks again! Good looking out!
    07-29-08 04:33 PM
    Try a forum search for CrackMem. Get the latest version, and ressettofactory while on 4.5 OS and that will remove the policy.
    CrackMem 2.4 can wipe a device, it cannot resetttofactory.
    And they are 2 entirely different processes.
    As of now JL_CMDER is the best and maybe only option.
    07-29-08 04:39 PM
    Procedure
    Step 1 Ensure the Blackberry Desktop Manager is installed using Blackberry Internet Service, and not Blackberry Enterprise Server. If you are unsure, it would probably be a good idea to uninstall the Desktop Manager and start again.

If you don't have the CD that came with your Blackberry, the Software can be downloaded .

Step 2 Download the file and save it in your Blackberry installation directory (C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry).