Hey I have been reading this post through and through and I'm having the same issue. As I try to update, it tells me "no software update is required at this time. i currently have 5.0.0.509, and it shows the 5.0.0.681 update i have downloaded and installed when I run the app loader to update, it gives me a list of choices to upgrade and defaults at 4.6.0.304 as recommended and other 4.6's as downgrade. I dont ever recall downloading these at any time whatsoever , but it just wont allow me to update. I have already erased teh vendor.xml you described in the first post. Im not a newbie when it come sto phones or anything, as I have dealt with htc phones, iphones and even android phones and have modded each and everyone of them.....i just never really got into the blackberry cause I never had a bb, but I got a killer deal from someone here in NYC wher I was able to acquire a bb bold 9000 for $40 and so i am here messing with it and all sorts of stuff....hop i dont get flamed for this.............lol

how do i go about erasing the older ones? should I downgrade and then attempt this upgrade? where exactly am I suppse to "install" the update after downloading it? or will it just do automatically?
    Make sure you delete any other OS on your PC and then dis-connect from the Internet as this is where the you are getting other options to upgrade/downgrade.
    05-25-10 10:00 AM
    JasW ok i dont wanna bug you or sound like a dumb *** but when i go to program files>common files>research in motion>app loader> after that i get a blank box i dont see any files there
    App Loader comes with Desktop Manager, so you should be able to see it in that folder. If not, try downloading the latest version and installing it: Desktop Manager (select Desktop Software v5.0 Service Pack 1).

Reinstall the OS after you install DM -- you should see both loader.exe and vendor.xml in the folder.
    05-25-10 12:56 PM