Just a follow up to my previous post and have always wonder about you guys that are on BES. Is there a way around the fact that when you do a security wipe and device wipe you need to bug the BES administrator to allow you to reactivate again? Is there a trick to simulating the "auto-activation" when you skip the wiping and just in upgrade the OS straight?
    There is an application within BES that acts like DM. It is server based and allows you to back-up, explore, trouble shoot, your device. It also allows you to set-up or change your BES password. Of course your administrator is going to need to set this up and give you access, but you never have to bother him again. I have always had to re-activate my BES whether I load over an existing OS or wipe. I was always asking him to reset my password and he got tired of it and told me about this application. I've been using it for about 6-8 months and it works great.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-07-10 07:46 AM
    That's great Drew! However, I'm not sure if it's applicable if my BES is located in a different country. Let me ask our BES admin if he's heard about this application or he'd rather be bothered by me regularly.

Actually I was just curious how just installing another OS over another without wiping activates itself to BES and wiping and restoring backup does not. I mean... what is it that gets retained or not that triggers the re-activation without needing the help of the BES admin?
    11-07-10 09:41 AM
    i always wondered is a security wipe the same as BBSAK's Factory Reset/Restore?

11-19-10 07:14 PM