09-14-13 01:55 PM
601 ... 56789 ...
tools
    i just have a quick question im about to purchase the bold and ive heard that carriers can restrict wifi connections or control wifi in some way and the only way to remove the restrictions is through complicated process using software is this true?
    08-25-08 08:04 PM
    i just have a quick question im about to purchase the bold and ive heard that carriers can restrict wifi connections or control wifi in some way and the only way to remove the restrictions is through complicated process using software is this true?
    I have no personal experience with the Bold, Javelin, KickStart or Thunder. I cannot give you a solid answer and tell you one way or another how this will work.

I can only assume it will work as it does currently, but I could very well be wrong.
    08-25-08 08:21 PM
    im sorry if youve answered this before but can a wireless provider restrict access to wifi all i see is att doing this but does rogers do it as well. And if they do restrict wifi usage what are the usual restrictions that wireless providers put on these phones.
    PS Awesome post and thx for the quick reply
    08-25-08 08:42 PM
    No, wireless providers generally do not "restrict" the WiFi...

I am not exactly sure what you mean by that. TMobile and Rogers have UMA capability, where-as ATT does not. ATT can still use the WiFi function, just not UMA.
    08-25-08 08:44 PM
    aiight you appeased my fears. A cellphone vendor told me that wireless providers restrict wifi and that kinda got me scared. But from what im getting they dont do that so thats what i needed to know
    08-25-08 08:50 PM
    make no mention of the VPN, only the UMA.I am on the network, but browser on the BB won't connect. I get an uncaught exception, invisable node cannot be made current window. What the heck in the VPN anyways?
    08-29-08 04:08 PM