I am going to ask this at the risk of getting folks angry because it has probably been asked before but I'll be dogged if I can find it using the search option. Here goes...first, I am new to BB. I got the Pearl Flip 8230 (please...I already know most everyone hates this device. I happen to love it because it's a flip) and have downloaded the Opera Mini browser that seems to work pretty well. So well, in fact, that I find myself using it for my FB excursions rather than the FB for BB app. It seems to work better than the app from FB. Why not just use the browser to access those sites like Twitter and Gmail and Yahoo and whatever rather than use up room and memory on the BB with the 3rd party apps? I sure would love to hear from you BB-O-Phile's that are experienced. Anyone care to chime in?

Blessings...
    Steve
    12-21-09 12:59 AM
    The Facebook app (as long as you have the registered email attached to your Blackberry account) offers push notification of new messages/updates.

The gmail app if left running does the same thing as well as giving you access to your entire gmail account (though it doesn't do HTML IIRC).

I'd imagine its probably the same for the various twitter apps.

You don't have to go to the sites to get notifications of updates, those apps tell you when updates occur.
    12-21-09 06:00 AM
    The Facebook app (as long as you have the registered email attached to your Blackberry account) offers push notification of new messages/updates.

The gmail app if left running does the same thing as well as giving you access to your entire gmail account (though it doesn't do HTML IIRC).

I'd imagine its probably the same for the various twitter apps.

You don't have to go to the sites to get notifications of updates, those apps tell you when updates occur.
    Correct. And that is exactly the beauty of a blackberry.
    12-21-09 06:18 AM