08-08-09 07:12 AM
72 123
tools
    I'm no expert but didn't RIM have many APIs ( application programming interface ) locked to Developers?

Didin't I read soemthing recently about them unloccking some of them recently?

Couldn't that ahve an impact on App development?
    06-02-09 10:34 AM
    Just because some of the apps in the App Store are dumb and useless does not mean that the iPhone platform is dumb and useless. They are not forcing you to use those apps. There may be a lot of dumb and useless apps in the App Store, but there are also many great and useful apps in the App Store.
    Eliminate the "dumb apps" and the games, and compare what remains. I think there's quite a bit of equity there. Where the major difference is, the iTunes App store vs. the embarrassing BB App World. Lord knows what they were thinking there.

However - RIM doesn't dictate what we can or cannot install. Can't say the same for Apple (v3 notwithstanding.)
    06-02-09 10:47 AM
    I think the problem lies more in with how apps are deployed to each smartphone.

iPhone Pro: One place to go to get all of your apps. You can only go to the App Store to get your apps, so everything shows up there.

iPhone Con: Apple controls what goes into the App Store, so you are somewhat limited by what Apple accepts. Granted, some of the silly apps get through while turn-by-turn GPS directions and IM apps that run in the background get rejected.

BB Pro: You can go to a lot of diffeent sites to get applications. If you want a Google app, you go to Google's website and choose the app you want. You can go to App World, Crackberry, Handmark, and many other sites to get apps for your BB.

BB Con: RIM has locked down certain APIs, so some applications that people would like to see on the BB are difficult for developers to create. Security restrictions, such as not allowing apps to load from SD card, also limit some of the BB capabilities.