I'm no expert, but the QNX OS can apparently run Java, C, C++, Flash stuff and pretty much most of the common dev platforms available. RIM has already told us that Android apps can repackaged to run on QNX. I thought iOS apps were based on C++, so shouldn't it be possible for iOS developers to simply repackage their apps so that they can run on QNX?

If RIM can find a way to make it easy for iOS developers to expand their audience to all Blackberry devices running QNX, in the long run, RIM could leapfrog everyone in the app department and start a new era of non-proprietary apps. This gives developers more power in who they write for.

This is in a way Apple's best innovation, making it easy to write apps. RIM could take it step further and make it a no-brainer to easily repackage your app for App world.

What are your thoughts?
    08-22-11 10:51 AM
    It could happen... have you read Joseph Holder's Blog post back in July about the Android app player and Blackberry Choice?

It all boils down to a choice for developers. Applications on the PlayBook can be written in a variety of languages and platforms. Adobe Flash CS5 creates apps that run on iOS, Android OS, and BlackBerry Tablet OS all from the same source code. Soon, the Android App player will allow those Android developers an entirely new market to sell their apps. Purportedly, only very minor changes will be required to port those apps to multiple operating systems.

Release of the PlayBook's Native Development Kit will unlock the vast power of the C/C++ language. I do not use that term lightly. Add to that the luxurious user interfaces created by The Astonishing Tribe, baked right in to the development kit. According to QNX's Dan Dodge, applications that run on the Linux or Mac OS X platforms, should be simple to port the BlackBerry Tablet OS. In short, the PlayBook will be able to run some very powerful apps.
    You can read it here: What the Android App Player means for BlackBerry