Hey! I noticed that Tetherberry is on sale today for half off, and I am very interested in purchasing this for my berry/notebook.

However, before I put 25 dollars into it, I was wondering if anyone has it and if vzw charges you anything even though I have an unlimited data plan?

Thanks in advance!
    07-24-09 08:34 AM
    Never tried it, I know that VZW charges 59.99 for the service whether its 29.99 bis plan you're on they charge 30.00 a month. If you're on bes plan for 44.99 its 15.00. I know that it won't charge you in terms of transferring data since you're unlimited so it should work. But like I said I've never used tetherberry before on a VZW BB
    07-24-09 08:38 AM
    There have been stories here of four and five digit bills because of tetherberry and pdanet use.

It is against the tos on all four major carriers.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-24-09 08:39 AM
    Tetherberry is a bad idea

07-24-09 09:44 AM
    Tetherberry is a bad idea

This is the conclusion I have come to as well.
    07-24-09 09:51 AM
    You might be able to get away with it if you only use it in emergencies once in awhile. Your call though.

The VZW Access is 15 a month and won't violate your TOS. It has a 5 gig / month cap but I never came near it when I used it. That's a lot of money but if you only buy it for a month (during your planned vacation) it's a good backup if you need it in a pinch.
    07-24-09 01:36 PM
    You might be able to get away with it if you only use it in emergencies once in awhile. Your call though.

The VZW Access is 15 a month and won't violate your TOS. It has a 5 gig / month cap but I never came near it when I used it. That's a lot of money but if you only buy it for a month (during your planned vacation) it's a good backup if you need it in a pinch.
    And because it goes through the RIM servers, it's not a fast tethering. It's best used for emergencies.