1. alderaan's Avatar
    Is it possible to somehow save cached stations when upgrading to the new version? No big deal. It's easy to cache them again. Just wondering.
    07-23-09 04:47 PM
  2. a2thejay23's Avatar
    that would be good to know if someone's figured it out...i stopped caching in slacker cuz i got tired of having to redo them everytime i flashed a new OS
    07-23-09 05:20 PM
  3. alderaan's Avatar
    Sorry, guess I wasn't clear. I was wondering how to save cached stations when I deleted an old version of Slacker to load the new version.
    07-23-09 09:28 PM
  4. jbharman45's Avatar
    Not possible, nor do I believe it will ever be possible. Part of the reason that they can allow you to cache files locally is because the window of use is so narrow that it is essentially impossible to save the data, move it to another platform, etc. This is by design, so that they can allow you to have the data locally without fear that they are going to get sued by letting you save it, pass it around, etc. This is true of all the platforms that allow local cache (Sirius/XM, etc.).

    And, you can't hate reloading cache more than me. I reload the OS about once a week, and I keep 18 cached stations. It is agonizingly slow to rebuild. Oh well...
    07-23-09 10:47 PM
  5. alderaan's Avatar
    Thanks for the explanation jbharman45.
    07-24-09 09:35 AM
  6. johnnymac's Avatar
    The pain with this process when upgrading OSs has forced upon me a need to just cache four or five stations now. Kind of a 'forced cleanup' if you will.

    I wish there were a better way but I understand why it has to happen.

    (I do think there's a new function they've added to the files on the mem card - after upgrading an OS and 're-activating' Slacker, I now see files on my SD that say 'Slacker DeleteMe' or something - likely a prompt to delete your old cache files. I don't recall seeing that before - nice!')
    07-24-09 10:41 AM
  7. acowart's Avatar
    Sorry, guess I wasn't clear. I was wondering how to save cached stations when I deleted an old version of Slacker to load the new version.
    During a normal Slacker version upgrade, you won't need to delete the old version - It'll automatically overwrite it and you'll be able to keep your cached content.

    There has been one release of Slacker that has broken cached content, but it should be the last time.

    Edit - I don't think there's a way around the OS upgrade wiping the content, though.
    Last edited by acowart; 07-24-09 at 11:37 AM.
    07-24-09 11:32 AM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD