Hello everyone,

I'm pretty new to Crackberry but I decided to write this short little article to go over how to configure Palringo (and go over what it is)...

Whats Palringo?

It is an IM client where you can connect to MSN, ICQ, AIM, Yahoo, GoogleTalk, Jabber and Gadu-Gadu. This is a FREE application!. You dont have to pay like Mundu, IM+, JiveTalk or others.

Where do I get this free software?

Palringo Vocal IM

You are going to need to download the Windows version for your desktop and the mobile version obviously. It will ask you for a mobile # when downloading the mobile version so you can do this OTA (Over the Air).

Ok now what? I'm confused...

Several things need to happen now.
    1)Open an account (which is free and just asks for a user name/password and email) on palringo.com
    2)Obviously, if you haven't done soo yet, download the client for your mobile phone
    3)Configure the client for your mobile device. Just like using opera mini, you need to set up the TCP/APN for your phone. Palringo already set up a forum post (Share you mobile connection settings - Palringo Forums) which allows this program to connect to your mobile carrier (I.E TMobile, Cingular..ect)

When you find the correct connection setting for your device go to

Options -> Advanced Options -> TCP

Go ahead and enter your information as needed there that is shown in the forum post

After that, you should be able to connect on your BlackBerry to Palringo.

I can't add services when I log in on my mobile device

This is currently a bug on some users BlackBerry's, which is solved by downloading the Palringo IM program for windows, logging in there and then adding the services you need on the Windows machine. All changes made in Windows show on your BlackBerry after you log out and log back in...

I know this is long winded, but this is meant for new users to the BlackBerry... and I hope this helps
    05-31-08 08:30 AM
    great info. thank you
    05-31-08 08:37 PM
    Sticky!