Built for Business - Learn more about BlackBerry KEY2
    Hello,

I finally picked up my first Blackberry (Tour) and finally registered to this site after lurking for a while. I'm still learning about all the features but have a question regarding apps.

1) Are apps a one-time use/install per device or can they be used again?

2) Are apps universal for all BBs or are they model specific? I'm looking to buy a BB Curve for my wife and if I paid to download an app from this site for my Tour, can I then install it on my wife's BB as well?

Thanks in advance.
    10-16-09 02:24 PM
    1) Normally they can be used on ONE device at a time.
    Most apps register via the PIN and no two phones have
    the same PIN. If you purchase through AppWorld, MobiHand,
    etc you can request a new code when you change devices.

2) No. Not always.
    10-16-09 02:32 PM
    Welcome to CB! Congrats on your Tour! Now:

1. Apps that you pay (unless there is a monthly service charge to use the app) are a one time pay only. For example, if you go to the CrackBerry App Store and purchase BerryBuzz, you have to pay the $5 only one time to get the application for your device. Apps like SmartGuard (I think that's what it's called, can't particulary remember) have a monthly/yearly charge associated with it. 99% of the apps you will come in contact with are of the former variety, one time pay. They can almost always be transferred if you upgrade/downgrade to a different BB, you will probably just need to go to the website and get a new registration number to go with the new device pin.