@Cope: you may have already tried this, but you need to make sure that your GPS is turned on. for my curve 8530, you do that by going to Settings/Advanced Options/GPS/ and make sure you have "Location On" selected under "GPS Services"

@bret: I feel ya! It's so frustrating only being able to see the thumbnail pics most of the time, with the full pics not really ever loading. one thing that seems to help for me at least, is to establish a good wifi connection and then just turn off the connection to the Mobile Network (for those who might be unfamiliar, you do this by removing the check next to "Mobile Network" when you go to the "Manage Connections" icon. You can always turn it back on later when you want to be able to receive calls and texts again.) I'm no expert, but it almost seems like when Grindr is trying to download stuff with both the mobile and wifi connections, that's when you get those lovely never-ending spinning pinwheels.

Here's to hoping that a nice, disinfected full release is imminent!
    10-14-10 02:42 PM
    @cope - Make sure you have the compatibility mode turned off in the Options --> Applications area.

I read a blurb on Grindr's website that for Verizon Blackberries, Grindr is not allowed to use the GPS (?), so it only uses cell tower triangulation.
    10-15-10 12:45 PM
    I got vers 1.0.5.7.9 and it seems very buggy (Crashes my bb all the time).

Sometimes it functions great... then Bang! Everything hangs.

Is there a later version?
    10-21-10 02:16 AM
    @wanchaiman: yes the current beta version is 1.0.5.7.14 and I know at least for me, it started prompting me to upgrade to newer versions once I got the .9 a month or so ago.

@JustJoey: I've got a Verizon BB and my GPS more or less seems to be working. I haven't seen the blurb you're talking about, and their "tips" page for BB doesn't mention any difference across service providers. I just made sure to turn on my GPS under Options/Advanced Options/GPS