I honestly just now realized, after 6 months of being a 9700 owner, that BlackBerry Maps is an actual application...To my knowledge, there has never been an icon or a prompt for me to load it. ( And I have wiped, reloaded and shrunk the OS, several times) I am far from an expert but I know my way around my 9700 pretty good. I just assumed BB Maps was a data source for which the GPS worked from. I have been using Mapquest for a while, which works well, but I have never been impressed with any 9700 GPS software to date. That is until I just downloaded BB Maps and ran it for the first time. Wouldn't you think it would come preloaded on the device? Or did it and I am just blind?

I have always used my regular GPS when needed because everything else I have loaded on my BB was just not user friendly. I love the idea of having a native app for GPS now.

Go ahead and laugh...I can handle it....
    Last edited by 1425956; 02-17-11 at 09:03 PM.
    02-17-11 09:00 PM
    Some of us older individuals call those times ( Senior Moments ) bb maps comes preloaded I do believe. Google maps works fairly well also. But just think how fun it was to learn somthing new about your phone that you thought you already knew.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com

02-18-11 03:49 AM
    I was under the impression that AT&T blocked this. You have AT&T listed as your provider. Is this information no longer up to date, or can we use BB Maps now?
    02-18-11 09:01 AM
    AT&T can use BB Maps, but you have to get the service books from somewhere else, I believe. There are several threads on CB about getting BB Maps on AT&T. I use Google Maps, so I've never bothered.
    02-18-11 09:28 AM
    I see. I also use Google Maps, and have since I used it on my 9630 on Verizon.
    02-18-11 10:01 AM