Hi all,

I'm studying abroad in South Africa for 4 months this summer, and it's not exactly the most technical place in the world.

I've found a SIM card that will allow me to have unlimited incoming calls/texts with outgoing international calls at an okay price. But outgoing texts are $0.60 per message. Considering I send about 4,000 a month... this isn't going to work.

Data usage is $1.52 / 100kb.

BBM is cheap, I think, so I'll use that as much as possible. But for non-Blackberry friends, does anyone know of any third-party applications that can essentially give me a very light free messaging program that gives me a fake phone number or something that my friends can text and then it will load as message through data on my phone? This way I can bypass SMS charges.

I don't mind paying a bit extra for the fake phone number, just as long as the messages to/from are free.
    05-19-10 09:40 AM
    If you had T-Mobile, you could use UMA (incoming texts are out of your text package) and send them back when you're over WiFi. And if you're studying there for a few months, then you should be surrounded by WiFi.
    05-19-10 09:57 AM
    Hi all,

I'm studying abroad in South Africa for 4 months this summer, and it's not exactly the most technical place in the world.

I've found a SIM card that will allow me to have unlimited incoming calls/texts with outgoing international calls at an okay price. But outgoing texts are $0.60 per message. Considering I send about 4,000 a month... this isn't going to work.

Data usage is $1.52 / 100kb.

BBM is cheap, I think, so I'll use that as much as possible. But for non-Blackberry friends, does anyone know of any third-party applications that can essentially give me a very light free messaging program that gives me a fake phone number or something that my friends can text and then it will load as message through data on my phone? This way I can bypass SMS charges.