Mod-please feel free to move this thread as you see fit.

I am an extreme newbie, so please be gentle ....I don't really know for 'smart phones', but know that I'm frustrated with the BB Tour my son insisted I'd like. Anyway, I hate that it's not more apparent when I miss a phone call (and, in searching for information, still can't find an answer to one of my questions..and that is, when I recieve a call, and it goes to voicemail, is the phone number of the caller registered anywhere? And, apparently it does NOT show as a 'missed call'..?).

So, I'm learning through browsing here at crackberry and on the web, that if I want to get notification of missed calls, I have to download an alert program (how stupid is that? me thinks, anyway...).

I've seen several different alert apps I can download....have searched here and elsewhere to find which one gets the highest reviews, but to no avail. Does anyone here have recommendations on a good alert application?

Thanks so much! jana
    06-16-10 10:11 AM
    Welcome... Don't take offense to this but your post is a little on the confusing side...

You do not need to install any apps to alert you of a missed call. If you have a missed call that actually makes your phone ring at least once, you will get an icon and an alert that will say 'you have 1 missed call' and ask to view or save. If you have a voicemail WITHOUT a missed call icon AND the message, that means it went straight to voicemail. Not sure what carrier you have but if you don't get the missed call icon and you get a message, you can set it up to say what number left the message.

Hope that helps! Feel free to ask away if it doesn't.
    06-16-10 10:19 AM
    Blink by VikySoft - available in AppWorld and the Crackberry App Store
    06-16-10 10:27 AM
    You should see a yellow phone with a red x and a number (number of missed calls).
    06-16-10 10:29 AM