Hi All!

I'm a newbie in the Blackberry world, having finally gotten my hands on a Bold 9900, and i'm loving it so far. My biggest concern right now is that my company does not use Blackberry Exchange Server... so though I am able to use my Exchange email account over BIS, i am unable to synchronize my contacts and calendar with my Blackberry. The biggest hassle is that our company doesn't use Outlook either - but a custom program for emails, so i can't set up the device to sync with Outlook!

I searched around and found AstraSync - an app that promises to provide me the functionality that i so desperately need! and though I found various threads concerning the application in question, not much satisfaction was gained from the ones that i did read.

Any of you use AstraSync for your needs? I don't need it to sync my email but just calendar and contacts...

There's also this 7-day trial for that app that i decided to make use of. But after i had installed and configured, it somehow ended up not only getting my appointments from exchange but also synced back up to it as new appointments from the device thus resulting in there being duplicates of the appointments! And so i ended up removing the application after that.

Can anyone confirm if this app is an appropriate one? I'm sure it was just a configuration thing that resulted in my appointments being duplicated, but have you ever had that happen to you with this app?

Feel free to chime in with alternative applications as well!

Regards.
    Salman Khalid.
    02-27-12 03:19 PM
    Hello, Salman.

What custom email program does your workplace use?

I see that AstraSync uses Microsoft Exchange ActiveSync. That is why it costs $49 per year. And you are forced to use their custom email client on your BB.