Hi guys, I am new to Blackberry devices and smartphones in general. I found a deal on craigslist 50 bucks for a used 9650 in excellent condition. I bought the phone but have not activated it yet. When I was playing around with the phone, I did not find the app world icon as well as email. Can someone give me the basic info I need to set up the phone?

Thanks
    02-15-12 06:21 PM
    App World icon may be "hidden". On the main screen, click the BlackBerry button and select "Show All".

It may also be in either the Applications folder or the Downloads folder.
    02-15-12 06:23 PM
    you can also try to install it and see what it says.
    i provided you the link for appworld, ota.

rroyy.com
    02-15-12 06:26 PM
    Do you guys think it could be due to the phone not being activated yet? Thanks for the help!
    02-15-12 06:58 PM
    so i guess you didn't find out yet? appworld icon will always show if you have it installed, aslong if you haven't hided it etc.
    if you aren't registered, it will show you the message to it.
    02-15-12 07:02 PM
    Do you guys think it could be due to the phone not being activated yet? Thanks for the help!
    Yes it is.

You need to contact your carrier and ask them to add a BlackBerry data plan to your account.

Once this is active, you'll be able to access App World and setup your email etc.
    Thunderbuck likes this.
    02-15-12 08:50 PM
    Great, thanks for the help guys! Pretty much I plan to test this phone out and see how much I like it. I have been eligible for upgrade for awhile now, but have been hesitant about which smartphone to get. I am overall pretty bad with technology so I thought a simple smartphone to test out such as a Blackberry would be a good choice. I might use my upgrade to a 9930 or some other phone based on how I like the 9650.

Thanks again for the help here!
    02-15-12 10:45 PM
    @OP, just note that the BB devices are a lot higher up the ladder of existence than your previous dumb phones