Hey Yall!
    I am new to CB and new to searching for applications. I've had my BB for 1 month now and I ♥ it! But I have been interested in learning ASL. So I was wondering if there is an application for ASL? Let alone if you've heard of such an application?!
    04-19-09 03:48 PM
    What exactly do you mean? I'm not sure what type of app you could have for asl.

So no, I'm not aware of anything like that existing. I am taking a community college course in ASL. It's my first semester, and I'm doing ok in it. My comprehension is way beyond my ability to sign, though.

That's not really relevant, I just decided to mention it.
    04-19-09 04:32 PM
    I am not aware of any BB programs but I think it is awesome that you are learning ASL
    04-19-09 06:24 PM
    If you are looking for a good site I'd suggest Lifeprint.com

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    04-19-09 11:57 PM
    Thanks for the link Jeff!
    I like how I can view the site on my BB internet!

04-20-09 12:27 AM
    Hi!

I'm Deaf and use ASL daily to communicate. I don't know of an ASL app but I would recommend finding a Deaf social in your area...e.g., deafcoffee.com. I don't recommend Lifeprint for beginning signers. I think Bill tends to water down ASL syntax to make it easy to understand. So much that it isn't ASL but a pidgin between ASL and English.

I recommend the Master ASL DVD and book for self study. Many features of ASL rely on the face or very small handshape changes that are hard to read on a BlackBerry. For example, SNEAK-OUT and GO-EXPLORE-THE-CITY have very obvious differences in facial expression and size but you wouldn't see it on a BlackBerry.

Thanks!

04-20-09 01:20 AM
    ^^Cool Thanks for your advice :-)

04-20-09 01:22 AM
    No problem! Good luck.

04-20-09 01:40 AM

So much that it isn't ASL but a pidgin between ASL and English.

ha! thats what gets me in trouble
    04-20-09 02:56 AM