Due to work and the need for specific work apps, I was passively forced to stick my BB Passport in the drawer of retired phones. (Actually, still use it as mini pc for home wifi)

So, being stuck on a physical keyboard and unable to wait for the KEY2, I picked up the most recent version (4gb ram, or whatever) KEYone.

To get to my question, how do I mute notification sounds for specific things? My biggest issue are my email (Gmail) sounds. Texts, phone, yes I want sounds. Gmail, no!

I went to settings/notifications and thought I disabled (blocked) Gmail sounds but it hasn't worked.

This is my first Android. No doubt, I'm still learning.

Oh a secondary, less important question: swiping down from the top shows notifications. They seem to be separate from the hub. It seems deleting message from hub doesn't delete the swipe down top notification. Can those be linked?

I have many questions, email/gmail sounds my biggest concern right now. Never fails, 10 nonsense emails start coming in right as I begin to fall asleep at night.

Thanks for any help! Sorry for such a wordy post! I would edit it, keep it short and simple but I already pressed submit.
    06-24-18 06:17 AM
    Due to work and the need for specific work apps, I was passively forced to stick my BB Passport in the drawer of retired phones. (Actually, still use it as mini pc for home wifi)

So, being stuck on a physical keyboard and unable to wait for the KEY2, I picked up the most recent version (4gb ram, or whatever) KEYone.

To get to my question, how do I mute notification sounds for specific things? My biggest issue are my email (Gmail) sounds. Texts, phone, yes I want sounds. Gmail, no!

I went to settings/notifications and thought I disabled (blocked) Gmail sounds but it hasn't worked.

This is my first Android. No doubt, I'm still learning.