This is not a short post, come back to this when you have time to read. I've been using Priv for almost 2 months after using BB10 for 3 years and BBOS for over 7 years before that, so I am probably one of those few people who utilize near %100 of advertised and non-advertised functionalities of all BB branded platforms. PS: I miss my Playbook, the 4th orphan platform

As hardware, Priv is a beautiful device. It functions amazing as a communication device but there is a huge disconnect between the Keyboard and the Touch-Screen. It's as if Blackberry had two totally independent work on the device. Android as it is today is not meant to take advantage of keyboard, but BB has done an amazing job trying to integrate it as much as possible. For the most part, it works. Regular (non-Power) users probably won't even realize what's missing since all they do is slide the keyboard when they want to type, and slide it back in when they are done, they go back to using On-Screen functionality. With a device like DTEK70/Mercury/TBA, keyboard is not something you can just tuck away. Unless Blackberry focuses on the keyboard and turns into an vital part of the device, I am afraid it won't make it. If Priv didn't make it with it's nearly, completely optional keyboard, it will be very difficult to push the new device on consumers.

Let me list some of the issues that made the keyboard non-essential on Priv, also some non-keyboard related issues that BB should consider addressing:

• Utilize the keyboard to make it worth having it on the device. (Read details below)
    • Email action Icons at the bottom (or at least an option to move some of them to bottom like folder/delete/etc since we don't have KB shortcut for some of these) This is especially important with a device like Mercury/DTEK70 where you cannot simply tuck the keyboard away.
    • Add More action icons like marking read/unread, Snooze, Flag