In other news, Canadeh is thinking hard on the F-35 deals with US eh acting funny on Le Bombardier aeroplanes majorly owned by Canadeh.

They now need to man-up on the greenbacks vs CDN issue too IMO.
    10-19-17 07:31 AM
    So what specifically are these other "economic factors" that put a 25-30% premium on Canadian BlackBerries?

These products are made en mass in Chinese factories and distributed worldwide.

Posted via CB10
    I'm not an expert here, but there can be import duties or tariffs, for one. So, if you are importing a phone from China the Canadian government may have a tariff that specifies that you must add 30% to the wholesale price.

If you go to the USA and buy liquor or cigarettes then when you come across the border you must pay duty (effectively a tax) on the item.

Taxation - you may be forced to pay tax on an imported item also. Unfortunately I don't know the legislative differences between a "duty", "tariff" and "tax".

So, the price that an importer pays for a phone made in China is NOT the same price that they can sell it for in Canada.
    There would likely be some sort of a government tariff or duty that would be charged - also, if the same importer was working in both Canada and the USA there may well be DIFFERENT tariffs/duties for Canada and the USA, which affect the price.
    It may well be that distribution / shipping inside the countries is different as well.

Additionally, costs tend to be higher in Canada - taxes are higher, shipping could well be more - lower volume of orders could affect this as well. The USA market is 10x the size of the Canadian market. It's very possible that an order going to the USA could qualify for a volume discount whereas one for Canada might not.
    10-19-17 10:43 AM