Exactly this is the absurd I saw in all this situation. In extreme case, if you don´t do your job properly you risk lose it. What obligates you to use YOUR money to buy a tool which will be used to generate revenues - or whatever - for the company. And this same company take the right to tell you which kind of device YOU need to buy in order to fulfill THEIR necessities. Really absurd, indeed. And people keep saying slavery was ended at 19th century...
    Slavery would imply you’re a piece of property owned by someone else. Let’s not be so dramatic as that’s a dark chapter that mankind should never have allowed but actually still exists today.

That being said, depending where you live, requiring you to provide certain materials to obtain and keep your job can be legal. I’m no expert in field of employment law, however, it’s no different than buying suits and dress shoes or uniforms and heavy duty boots to wear in your job duties.
    cyberdoggie and Laura Knotek like this.
    11-05-19 05:59 AM
    Do you have a source for that? Together with my manager we want to start a discussion about this, so it would help if we could show some official Google statement on this.
    It's the same schedule every year. Nougat got its last patches in October of this year. Marshmallow's was August of 2018.
    11-05-19 06:36 AM
    Slavery would imply you’re a piece of property owned by someone else. Let’s not be so dramatic as that’s a dark chapter that mankind should never have allowed but actually still exists today.

That being said, depending where you live, requiring you to provide certain materials to obtain and keep your job can be legal. I’m no expert in field of employment law, however, it’s no different than buying suits and dress shoes or uniforms and heavy duty boots to wear in your job duties.