OK, so I am a tech idiot, and my history of cell phones, PDA's, and the like has been -- one of two things. First, years ago, I walk into the VZW corporate store, or I call VZW, access my corporate program...and I bought a device, attached it to my contract, and got a major discount because I was committing to the device and the contract for 2 years. I never paid more than $200 for a device. I never bought a device that just hit the market, but they weren't old, discontinued models. I'd say I bought it a few months after it came out.

Second, in recent years, I'd do the same thing -- but now you don't buy the device, you pay $15 or $20 per month for two years and then you own the phone.

So...here's my question...I read here, and it sounds like most people just walk into wherever they walk into, or go online, and just "buy" the device. So are all of you paying $700 to $1000 every time you buy a device? Because it sounds like people here are upgrading and buying new devices often, so is this costing you a lot of money?

Also, do you trade-in your current model for the new one? Sell the current one? Keep it?

Thank you very much in advance.
    08-24-18 01:36 PM
    good question! it amazes me every time i read about upgrading to a new phone as soon as there is one. must cost a fortune! myself i have a two year contract and keep my old phones as a collection of bb's. wouldnt be able to buy a new phone every time
    Tech Idiot likes this.
    08-24-18 01:50 PM
    Just as many that are happy with their 8 year old Bold....

Proportionally you have many more tech "fans"... and specifically BlackBerry fans, so new is what many go for.

Some are collectors and would never dream of selling, others have bought the same KEYone three times and sell it after a few weeks to get the next great Android flagship, and then comes back to the KEYone for a short while.....

Ain't nothing really normal around here...
    08-24-18 01:55 PM