Hi all! I kept my Passport as long as I could, but in light of its increasingly erratic behaviour, I decided to take the plunge for an Android phone. I am new to Android so please go easy on me...

I wanted a secure phone so I knew using an Android would entail risks, but having had faith in Blackberry's ability to make a secure enough phone, I bought BBF100-8 when I touched down in Japan. I had this for less than a week but so far, it is working marvellously with the dual sim etc.

I remain realistic in that I would not be able to protect my privacy against state-actors; fortunately I am a nobody. I am concerned though, by the way Google home-brewed apps appears to be integrated in a manner that allows extraction of data. My question therefore is how best to thwart it. Where there is a similar functioning app that is provided by Blackberry, my instinct would be to rely on the BB app and turn off as much of the permissions granted to Google app.

To give you an idea of my usage style, I will be using my Key2 primarily to keep RT access to mails/SMSs, calls, taking occasional photos and sound recordings, and internet surfing when needed. I have installed VPN and secure mail apps. I won't be doing SNS or games.

So for example,

(1) Carrier Services - I guess I cannot disable this but what permissions are essential (I am guessing microphone and phone)?

(2) Drive - I don't do clouds, and having seen so can I disable it completely?

(3) Google Play services - is this Google equivalent of Apple App Store? I switched off all permissions - will this create a problem and if so what permissions are essential?

(4) Location permissions - I only gave DTEK a permission to access location details. Does BB Hub+ Services or Support Centre (I am assuming this is BB, not Google, app) need access too to function properly?

(5) BB Launcher - I have so far only gave permission to access phone, but seems to be working ok. Does this app need any permissions at all?