I find that in recording apps such as the brilliant Field Recorder, the on board Key2 mics do sound good for what they are, and record in true stereo. However, I can't find a way to get the same stereo audio in my video recordings. Thoughts or advice?

My HTC One M8 is still my go to video phone in no small part due to its superior mics and brilliant audio results in video recording under the most demanding conditions.

I can't understand why this BB won't record stereo audio during video recording by default. The ancient PlayBook did this out of the box and to this day still bests even the trusty HTC M8.
    12-06-18 09:37 AM
    It's stereo for me.
    12-06-18 01:06 PM
    I remember Sony used to have good app for that.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...recorder&hl=cs
    12-06-18 03:29 PM
    It’s mono for me. With headphones It's just dual mono. I am a recording engineer and I know this. How is video recording audio true stereo for you? What am I missing?
    12-07-18 01:31 PM
    To clarify, in Field Recorder 8.4, when I speak in to the top mic the sound is clearly defined in the right side headphone channel... and as expected when speaking in to the bottom mic the sound is equally defined in the left headphone channel.

But when recording video and doing the same test, it's all mono centre in the same phones, and I have many,

Can you help me figure out why this may be?

Thanks
    12-07-18 01:43 PM
    Speaking in to the top mic in Field Recorder 8.4 clearly shows a right channel signal on playback. True stereo. In video record mode both mics sum to dual mono
    Attached Thumbnails Audio when recording video.. any way to improve it?-6361.jpg  
    the brother likes this.
    12-07-18 01:55 PM
    My current true stereo capture devices. I know stereo when I hear it, and I don't hear it in my video recordings on this Key2. I hear dual channel mono mush. There must be something that I am missing.