Ok, I wonder if there is a way to increase the number of characters in a text message. I'm sick of the words "field full" when I just want to finish a bloody sentence!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    06-30-10 06:23 PM
    you might want to try crunch sms..i'm new to the scene....but hope that helps
    06-30-10 06:27 PM
    Yes crunchsms there is no limit but i believe if the text is too long the text will be split into two seperate texts
    06-30-10 07:04 PM
    Another app is Beyond160, but I understand the CrunchSMS is free, but don't know about Beyond160. I'm fortunate in that ATT automatically breaks a message into multiple parts if they exceed 160 characters without needing a separate app.
    06-30-10 08:20 PM
    BlackBerry App World - Beyond160

BlackBerry App World - crunchSMS

If I have the money, I would get Beyond160. Because it still uses your native SMS/MMS app (unlike CrunchSMS). You just have to hit "Beyond160" on the menu when the field is full. CrunchSMS works the same but it uses their "own" chat-style (looks like iPhone) SMS application.
    06-30-10 08:36 PM
    I'm fortunate in that ATT automatically breaks a message into multiple parts if they exceed 160 characters without needing a separate app.
    I didn't know that! Why won't other carriers do that?
    06-30-10 08:37 PM
    I didn't know that! Why won't other carriers do that?
    Well I believe Sprint does. My sister-in-law has an HTC type Droid phone on Sprint and she does this all the time. The only issue, with both of them, is that if you are in the middle of a word when you hit 160, the second text takes off in the middle of the word, so it can be a little difficult reading the texts sometimes if you aren't paying attention, but since they come in back to back, it is pretty simple to tie them together as you read.
    06-30-10 08:40 PM