Hey guys, I've had the 8900 for about 3 months now and as like the rest I now have a new addiction. I recently had a sidekick and upgraded and what a difference lol. I use the internet alot and look at videos on youtube almost all the time. I have 2 questions as of now. I'm not the smart guy when it comes to computers and such. I'm seeing alot of talk about updating the OS. Just wondering in "stupid people talk", what are some advantages and disadvantages of updating the OS and which OS (link to download if possible) would I best benefit from? Last but not least I had a question on maintaining a healthy blackberry the best I could. Like I said I use the internet alot and want to make habits from the start to make it perform he best it can for as long as it can. So are there any routine checkups you guys do that could help me out? Any advice is greatly appreciated!!!

P.S. Im kind of new to the whole forums gig so take it easy on me!!!! Thanks in advance.
    09-04-09 06:04 PM
    First, you did not let us know what OS you are using???

RIM is busy working on OS 5.0 release for the 8900, Bold and a few other devices... so we are not seeing any new OS releases for the 8900 right now... T-Mobile's official OS 4.6.1.231 is a very good OS version for you... please do not consider upgrade or trying an OS 5.0 until is become official with a few carriers... you can find .231 on T-Mobile's Blackberry Software site.

Read the BlackBerry 101: How to Install or Upgrade to a New RIM BlackBerry Operating System (OS), also check out the Upgrade/Downgrade Procedures link in my signature below... additionally, check out the http://forums.crackberry.com/f100/ne...nguage-245615/ first post to see how most will recommend to install an OS version.
    09-04-09 06:37 PM