Hey guys!

I just bought a used 8900 off eBay and should be receiving it this week!

It is T-Mobile branded, but unlocked.

Some general questions...

- I have an unlimited data/text plan from AT&T, but I have heard that there is a separate "BlackBerry" plan - what exactly won't I be able to do w/o the BB plan?

- Is there a good, free GPS App for the 8900?

Anything else I should know about my 8900?

Thanks!
    08-11-09 10:00 AM
    You won't get a browser, no push email, no data.
    08-11-09 10:07 AM
    There is GoogleMaps but I don't think it will work w/o a blackberry data plan.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-11-09 10:12 AM
    08-11-09 10:20 AM
    So even if I already have a data plan, I still can't use the internet on the BB? That doesn't make sense...What exactly wouldn't work? Is it that I could not install the browser, or it literally won't connect to the internet?

(sorry, I'm new to all this stuff)
    08-11-09 11:20 AM
    im also a new blackberry user on pay as you go but have been advised to get a blackberry bolt on from my carrier o2 which is 5 pound a month. does the same thing apply as with alphaberry about not being able to use browser, push email, bbm etc or would i be able to use these with blackberry bolt on with 02? thanks
    08-11-09 11:41 AM
    If you do not get a Blackberry data plan then you will find that most apps will not work. Also you will not get push email or be able to use Blackberry Messenger. You can still find 3rd party apps that will work via the WiFi connection but that will be limited to the range of the WiFi Hotspot and you will also have to invest some time finding out which apps will work and then configuring those apps. I do suggest that you get a data plan but if you do not want to get one then you need to start doing your research now.
    08-11-09 12:09 PM
    What is the cheapest BB Plan I can get that has unlimited text/data?
    08-11-09 12:26 PM