Okay I'm new to the Blackberry (Palm user for many years) so be gentle. Like all the apps for the phone, but here is where it gets weird. I've installed a number of them and now I'm getting complaints that my voice sounds "muffled". I was using my trusty Plantronics 510 so I thought maybe time for a new headset. While waiting for a new headset I switched back to using the handset. Better callers tell me, but muffled. Go the Sprint store and the tech looks at my phone and says "Man, you have a lot of apps on this thing!" I have about 10. He tells me I have to backup, do a hard reset and then reinstall those apps one by one until I find the one that's causing my voice to be "muffled". WTF? What kind of phone's voice quality is affected by the apps you have installed on it? Is this guy blowing smoke or is there something to all this?
    Thanks.
    07-04-10 06:34 AM
    I get complaints on muffled sounding voice off my 8530 as well.
    I think it has more to do with the placement of the mic and the
    quality of the mic and processing hardware.

Tim
    07-04-10 07:30 AM
    Great, so I have a phone that I can receive emails on, but people have difficulty hearing my voice. In the mean time I removed most the apps and I'll have to wait until some people wake up so I can test my Sprint techs "theory" of apps causing muffled voice.
    07-04-10 07:36 AM
    Are you guys getting good reception when making calls?

Also, I'd recommend updating your OS, I don't know if it'll affect the voice quality of the phone, but it might.
    07-04-10 11:23 AM