Good evening ladies/gents,

How's it going?

I just registered here and am already impressed by the quality of the posts in this forum.

I am buying a used 8900 for 180 CAD from someone who had an ad on Craigslist. Having said that, I am a total noob when it comes to BBs and I was wondering if you experts could give me some pointers on the common hardware and software problems that BBs have.

The device should be unlocked and I'll test it with my current Fido SIM card before purchasing it for sure. The least I want is to end up with a partially functioning phone.

Thank you in advance,
    HW
    Last edited by cn_habs; 05-17-10 at 08:09 PM.
    05-17-10 07:43 PM
    When you check out the phone, go to Options > Status, type "test" (you will NOT see the letters being typed). This will take you the "Device Selt Test Application" screen. Press the BB key, Start. Select as many of them as you can. Hopefully he has a headset, 3.5mm, so you can test the jack (or bring your own). These test will assure you that all of the keys, trackball, screen, speakers, etc. are okay. Some of the earlier operating systems did not have this program but I'm pretty sure the 8900 has it.

Also, check the water indicators. There is one on the battery that will have a red line (or red X's) and another on the phone. The one on the phone should be a small white square. As long as they are not solid red, it's an indication that it did not get wet. There is another one but you can't see it unless you disassemble the phone (it's on the trackball sensor).

Good luck.
    Last edited by shfjcs; 05-17-10 at 08:13 PM.
    05-17-10 08:07 PM
    Good evening ladies/gents,

How's it going?

I just registered here and am already impressed by the quality of the posts in this forum.