Hi

I am fairly new to this Blackberry stuff and browsing through this Forum I see various entries saying File Free shouldnt be below 12MB.

Interested I have checked mine and it is 11882380 (i.e. 11.9MB) after a battery pull. Looking at the DB sizes nowt is very large (largest is messages at 1.1MB) and I have no non default apps loaded on it. I cant see what the total space is either (so I cant really see how much is being used).

Any advice for a newbie - surely with a clean system it shouldnt be hitting that limit yet?

Thanks in advance

Dave
    03-03-09 10:56 AM
    alt + shft + h brings up a screen that lists the total memory.

Your file free is pretty low for not having 3rd party apps. Things you can do to free up memory and then do another battery pull are:

Delete all messages and emails

alt + lglg brings up the event log. Menu > Clear Log, clears it.

Options > Security Options > Memory Cleaning, Menu > Clean Now.

Clear the browser cache, cookies, etc. Browser > Options > Cache Options.

And of course, read this thread:http://forums.crackberry.com/f3/how-...-memory-34633/
    03-03-09 11:05 AM
    And make sure any apps you are using (i.e. browser, media player) close them out by pressing Menu-close.
    03-03-09 11:09 AM
    And make sure any apps you are using (i.e. browser, media player) close them out by pressing Menu-close.
    If I close them then they still appear (when I do Alt Escape) - Am I doing something wrong?
    03-03-09 12:25 PM
    alt + shft + h brings up a screen that lists the total memory.

Your file free is pretty low for not having 3rd party apps. Things you can do to free up memory and then do another battery pull are:

Delete all messages and emails

alt + lglg brings up the event log. Menu > Clear Log, clears it.

Options > Security Options > Memory Cleaning, Menu > Clean Now.

Clear the browser cache, cookies, etc. Browser > Options > Cache Options.

And of course, read this thread