I got my 8520, its about 1 week old and also its my first BB And Im having serious issues with it, after reading on forum about batteries issues I did everything they told me to, and still were the same this is what I did:

My OS is 4.6.1.305,I have checked that no background applications were running, my backlight is 10, Time is 30secs, backlight thing turned off, Bluetooth/wifi off.

Starting from there I unplugged my bb from charger (100%) at around 3:20PM, and after browsing like 10 mins, using msn messenger vaguely, incluiding also 10 mins or more of BBM, at around 8:00PM I was in 35% of battery thats less than 5 hours! My Bro/Sis BB(8310) can last for around 2 days after massive using.. and mine doesnt hit a day..

I've also been reading that updating my OS to .411 is a good option, I Just really dont know what to do to fix this issue with my battery im a BB noob! Can anyone tell me what I should do... =/?

Thanks In Advance.
    01-08-10 09:44 PM
    Try the OS upgrade. If it's still the same I'd just take the phone back and tell them you can't even go through part of a day on a charge.

I have a 8530 and I can easily go multiple days, and the 8530 is CDMA with 3g, which will definitely have less battery life than the 8520.
    01-08-10 09:45 PM
    Do you have BlackBerry service? If not, that can drastically reduce battery life due to the phone trying to get a BIS/BES connection constantly.
    01-08-10 09:46 PM
    Also just having poor network signal in general taxes the radio really hard every time you use data.

Updating the OS can possibly improve that.
    01-08-10 09:48 PM
    Yeah I have a Data Plan, I think its 3G I dunno..Im downloading right now the new OS to install it following some guides here in CrackBerry. If this doesn't fix it, I Have a 1 year warranty in Pieces/Services I should send it back.

btw, are there any other ways to reduce battery than the ones I mentioned.
    01-08-10 09:51 PM