HELP! So my battery was about to die and so I charged it. It was fine. Later on in the night, I decided to charge it some more and all of a sudden, I notice the phone had shut off and the picture of the battery came on with a red slash. I couldn't turn it on or off but I was able to ONCE and had check the status and I had a 100% battery. Then it decides to shut off again with the picture of the battery on the screen. I've pulled the battery out sooo many times but yet the picture of the battery is still on the screen and I am still not able to turn the phone on. Does anyone know why this is? Or what I can do to fix it? I hope I don't have to buy a new battery.
    05-20-08 02:41 AM
    I'm new to Blackberry as well but it sounds like it, sadly.
    05-20-08 03:11 AM
    Don't know what's wrong but look on the bright side; replacing the battery is better (and chaeper) than replacing the phone.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-20-08 03:17 AM
    Well guess what....
    05-20-08 03:54 AM
    I had that issue, got a new battery, and it still did the same thing. I got a new phone under RIM warranty.

Problem is... they dont send you a new battery or back cover with the phone, so i hope you didnt do anything to the battery that caused this issue, i.e. get it wet or anything...
    05-20-08 03:59 AM
    If you need to see it for yourself, go into your providers store, and they should be happy to try a different battery for you to see which it is. Then, they can setup RIM replacement on the spot for you.
    05-20-08 04:02 AM
    The battery with a red slash through it indicates a faulty battery. You need to replace your battery.

I am concerned as to how you knew the original battery was dying. Did this too show the same symbol? Was it just poor battery prformance?
    05-20-08 04:28 AM