Okay, so I'm new to Crackberry so forgive me if this post isn't perfect
    So then, I'm trying to update my 8520 to 5.0, and no matter what I try I cannot get the thing to work, I've tried to delete and reinstall the update of my computer many times (5.0.0.509, platform 5.2.0.47), tried unplugging the internet, turning off connections on my phone, taking out the SD card, I mean just about everything, except wiping my phone, obviously I'm saving this for a last resort. I'm not on a carrier (etisalat) where the update is released, and probably won't be for a long time.
    So I've deleted the vendor file and all that, and when I go into loader.exe or Desktop Manager, the only option for my phone is the 4.6 software.
    I don't know what else I can do? Maybe I'm missing something obvious, I don't know.
    Any help would be much appreciated
    05-15-10 03:11 AM
    Try using BBSAK (RIMGeeks.com • Index page desktop software) to load the OS, it has worked for me in the past.
    05-15-10 06:32 AM
    Thanks, but I have tried using that as well, for some reason BBSAK doesn't recognize my 8520, I've tried closing my desktop manager and device manager software (also done with the kill button on BBSAK itself), and for some reason it will not recognize my phone, perhaps I'm missing some fundamental step which is why I can't even get BBSAK to work properly, let alone the update? Thanks again though.
    05-15-10 12:08 PM
    Did you try rebooting the PC?
    05-15-10 12:52 PM
    I had the same problem with BBSAK not recognizing my 8520 and Diegonei pointed me to Blackberry Master Control Program. It was able to see the Blackberry when BBSAK wouldn't. You may want to give it a try.
    05-15-10 01:46 PM
    Yeah I have tried rebooting the PC, does the make of the PC influence anything, I was reading another post about issues with Dell computers, ad I have a Dell laptop?

And I will try the Blackberry Master Control Program now. Thanks
    05-19-10 12:34 AM