Just got my first blackberry (Curve 8520 T-Mobile) and just joined the site, so I'm a noob

My device tells me I have OS Version 4.6.1.259. When I try to upgrade to 5.0, the Desktop Manager says there are no updates available. I'm going through the BB site and following the directions, even tried an OTA upgrade, but got the same message!

Any ideas?
    06-15-10 01:48 AM
    You will need to download OS 5.0 from blackberry site and install it on your computer.

I'm not sure wheter T-Mobile have released OS 5.0. You can download for any other carrier and upgrade. Be sure to delete vendor.xml file located in program files\common file\research in motion\apploader
    06-15-10 02:10 AM
    I've downloaded the OS from this link http://forums.crackberry.com/f143/ne...hellas-431392/ and followed the instructions. no option for OS and no process starts. only lists my current apps.
    Last edited by shagwagon; 06-15-10 at 02:35 AM.
    06-15-10 02:24 AM
    Have you tried from the LOADER or just from DM?
    I had that problem too, and did it from the Loader.

Let's see if I don't forget a thing...

- You already have the OS version you want to upgrade to installed in your PC right? Now go to your: C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion (the x86 is if you're using a 64bit), go to the AppLoader folder. There should be a 'Vendor' file there, delete it.
    - After that, open the Loader application in that folder. After the first next appears what you're about to load into your berry. Make sure it is the OS that you desire that is there (core files, etc.)
    - You might want to backup. Then just follow the steps that appear.

Hope it helped.
    06-15-10 03:19 AM
    I may have found the issue. Every time I download and install the OS and connect my phone to PC, it re-installs the driver software for my phone. Could this be an issue?
    06-16-10 02:38 AM