1. CrackBerry Question's Avatar
    Hi, I'm trying to find out if my daughter's Blackberry Curve 9320 is locked to a cell provider. How do I do that? Also, I removed the SIM card because I want to sell the phone. Does removing the SIM card affect whether the phone is locked or not?
    09-26-15 08:32 PM
  2. ronfc's Avatar
    It won't work on SIM cards from other cell providers. Also, there is what they call "escreen", I just don't know if there is an information there regarding whether it is locked on a particular network.

    Cave, cave, moderator videt
    09-26-15 08:52 PM
  3. raino's Avatar
    Oh, you don't need to mess with the e-screens to figure out whether or not the phone is unlocked. Either try a different carrier's SIM card, or just go to Settings>Options>Device>Advanced System Settings>SIM Card. Then type mepd and some information should show up on the screen, which looks like this:

    SIM:
    Network:
    Network Subset:
    Service Provider:
    Corporate:

    If your phone is locked, Service Provider and/or Network will show Active or Enabled. If you see Disabled or Inactive across the board, your phone is unlocked.
    09-26-15 09:36 PM
  4. BoldMaverick's Avatar
    Oh, you don't need to mess with the e-screens to figure out whether or not the phone is unlocked. Either try a different carrier's SIM card, or just go to Settings>Options>Device>Advanced System Settings>SIM Card. Then type mepd and some information should show up on the screen, which looks like this:

    SIM:
    Network:
    Network Subset:
    Service Provider:
    Corporate:

    If your phone is locked, Service Provider and/or Network will show Active or Enabled. If you see Disabled or Inactive across the board, your phone is unlocked.
    Upon reading your instructions, I tried to find a similar area in my Q10.

    Would you happen to know if I am looking at the right area to know if I am unlocked judging from this photo?


    How do I know if my Blackberry Curve is locked to a cell provider?-img_20150927_111845.png

     Posted via CB10 on my Q10 
    09-27-15 10:21 AM
  5. raino's Avatar
    Upon reading your instructions, I tried to find a similar area in my Q10.

    Would you happen to know if I am looking at the right area to know if I am unlocked judging from this photo?


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20150927_111845.png 
Views:	90 
Size:	62.8 KB 
ID:	373318
    You found it--that's exactly where you're supposed to look on BB10 phones.

    Your Q10 is locked though. See that Unlock Network button? That is not there when a phone is unlocked.
    09-27-15 10:35 AM
  6. BoldMaverick's Avatar
    You found it--that's exactly where you're supposed to look on BB10 phones.

    Your Q10 is locked though. See that Unlock Network button? That is not there when a phone is unlocked.
    Now, I know. Thank you for your help!

     Posted via CB10 on my Q10 
    09-27-15 02:49 PM

Similar Threads

  1. How long do BlackBerry and Mercedes have together?
    By Acvdm in forum Team BlackBerry / Mercedes F1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 06-21-16, 08:26 AM
  2. Do anybody know which earphone come with SE?
    By fengjunzi in forum BlackBerry Passport
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-01-15, 08:33 AM
  3. What BB10 features do you have to have on PRIV?
    By mcstravi in forum BlackBerry Priv
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 09-29-15, 06:38 AM
  4. How will e-mail on the Priv work?
    By CrackBerry Question in forum BlackBerry Priv
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-26-15, 08:00 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-26-15, 07:55 PM
LINK TO POST COPIED TO CLIPBOARD