My Curve 8900 has been working fine, then suddenly this afternoon, i had left the phone on charge, and removed the charger, only find that none of the keypad buttons, the accept call, end call, blackberry menu or back button are working? The trackball works and can scroll left and right but clicking the trackball doe nothing either.

Everything else on phone appears to be working fine, accepting emails, calls, network working, etc.

Any ideas how to fix this?

Have tried removing battery and rebooting that way but to no avail.

Would a re-install of the software fix this possibly ???

Help please

Thanks.
    10-25-09 10:15 AM
    A backup, wipe and reinstall can't hurt. If it persists after that I'd execute
    a warranty exchange. That sound more of a device defect than an OS issue.
    10-25-09 10:21 AM
    I'm a complete newbie to backing up, etc.

The phone is vodafone branded but is unlocked and been using on 02
    so which OS should i re-install ??

Thanks!
    10-25-09 10:29 AM
    Install any OS you want... it does not matter... but you can always use your provider's approved OS... log on to O2's website and download it... otherwise you can download .310 and install that.

First, backup your device using DM.

If I have to Wipe my device I prefer CrackMem... download and install your OS... download and install CrackMem... start CrackMem, select the OS, click the Wipe button... this will wipe your device and load the OS selected.

Then reload your personal information using DM.
    10-25-09 10:58 AM
    Thanks for the guidance, i appreciate it.

where can i get the .310 os from? (Assume your talking about the new v5?)
    10-25-09 11:09 AM
    I never talk about OS 5.0 versions on the 8900 forum... .310 is the latest official OS for the 8900 and it's available in one of the sticky threads at the top of the 8900 forum.... you want OS 5.0 you need to go to the BETA OS forum.
    10-25-09 11:17 AM
    Ah yes sorry i saw the sticky after i posted.